Your Script

May 17, 2015

 

This week’s offering is so simple that you may be tempted to dismiss it out of hand. So we’ll begin by acknowledging that while there is nothing mystical at all about this one, it can be rather magical. We have seen it shift a great deal in those who engage with whole-hearted intent.

The core of our current focus, as you may be gathering, is awareness, and how you direct it. This is the realm where infinite choice remains for you, where power lies and where the life you want is to be accessed. There are many things that are beyond your control. In fact, most things are not in the sphere of your control. This has always been so, but the veils have tended to obscure that reality. It has been possible –for just ages—to imagine that your mind, in this incarnation- is what determines your physical fate. What job you have, how your children do, whether you live under a bridge or in glory by the sea. There are elements of free will in your lives certainly, but by and large, you have always been less in charge of things than you have generally preferred to think. Now, the enticing but not very real notion of self-determination, is being exposed as wars expand and jump the lines, as the ice caps melt and the earth itself explodes. It is here and now, with that recognition advancing on all of you that it is most essential that you take your free will and use it where it actually operates, where it can make a difference in your life. You probably cannot do anything about Fukushima, or about the drought or the mega-storms that balance the droughts, but you can choose who you want to be—whether things are going perfectly around you, or you are in the midst of disaster. This is a critical realm, and the one where you have both agency and choice, if you decide to exercise them.

And that, of course, is the nub of it: exercise. Thinking about lifting weights builds very little muscle mass, and considering being joyful has about the same impact on your level of happiness. Some might say that contemplation is the first step toward making change, and this is often true. However, our role here is to urge you toward action, no matter how simple and small. We want to encourage to do more than read what we have to say. If you want to feel better, to have a richer and more joyful moment-to-moment time in your world, then you can. This little option, then, is here for you, on offer. You must reach out, though, and meet the beauty and the brightness half-way.

Here is this week’s invitation:

 

  1. First thing in the morning, sit quietly with your eyes closed, breathe deeply and allow yourself to find a quality you want more of in your day. Joy, patience, gratitude, truth, courage…these are some possibilities to get you started. Just be sure to think in terms of experiences that you hold within, rather than those which are dictated by externals. In other words, there is a difference between celebrating or seeing the abundance that already exists in your life and wanting more. Once you have chosen the one you want to focus on for the day, write the word with your non-dominant hand in a focused manner seven (7) times.
  2. Give yourself permission to have and to notice that quality as it appears throughout the course of the day.
  3. Before you go to bed at night, write the same word on the same page with your dominant hand, allowing yourself to reflect on how your intention manifested during the day.

Although there is a similarity between this practice and the use of affirmations, this actually works with a different faculty, and by going through these steps—using your body, your hands—you bring the aspect of your life you choose to increase into focus in a grounded and ultimately corporeal manner.

We send you the strength and all the love which comprise the force which beckons—the promise of living really well begins only when the externals no longer determine your success or your satisfaction. There is a great joy in just knowing that.

 

One Response to “Your Script”

  1. A note from Elizabeth on this practice: For me, this has been the most extraordinary practice of this new series. I have found such a simple and direct correlation between that which I write in the morning and that which graces my day. Sometimes this is very clear–I choose to cultivate more peace, and at frequent intervals throughout the day I am conscious of how much peace I am experiencing despite the events and demands I cannot escape. This is so exciting–so much power to craft the way my life is going, no matter what happens around me!

    One morning, I sat to consider the quality I would choose for the day, and I felt a surge of delight when I touched into being generous. I decided to go with that and wrote ‘generous’ seven times with my left hand. The concept of generosity was with me, but as it arose again and again, I realized that something was amiss. A little more attention and I was face to face with the fact that sometimes I am dishonest in my generosity. Sometimes I give because I think that is who I am, or should be. And truly, that is aligned and correct. Some times. Other times, I give because it is ingrained in me that generosity is admirable and desirable. And I resent it when I do it for those reasons. When it doesn’t flow right out of my truth.

    So I went back to my pad of paper and wrote “honesty” with my left hand seven times. For the remainder of the day, I was really conscious of being honest with myself, particularly in areas where giving of myself was concerned. I was able to make some beautiful shifts in awareness and found myself able to go into generosity only when it was an honest expression from my heart. I think I will continue to use this technique and see where it leads me; it feels like there is a richness in this one–for me–that may yield a lot more.

    I hope it is as exciting for some of you as it has been for me. Do let us know!

    Love,
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

